Phic's attempt at the draft

Phicinfan

Expert on nothing, opinionated on everything
Administrator
This is how I personally feel it should go. I am no expert. I am merely going by what I perceive at team needs, and best talent to reach there. This will be the first round and maybe some of the 2nd round....to make a point.

1.1) St. Louis Rams - Russell Okung OT Oklahoma State
Ideally they would trade down, and maybe they will. I just don't see Bradford as the end all be all, and his shoulder scares the hell out of me. I also don't see spending this huge of money for DT. As such, assuming they can't trade down, you take the top OT in this draft to protect S.Jackson and your Qb of the future. If they do trade down, I still think OT will be the target.
1.2)Detroit Lions - Ndamukong Suh DT Nebraska
Detroit has made some great moves. Can they parley this pick in a trade to get value if Bradford is there...hopefully. But trading in the top 5 is risky and costly. So you take the DT that will help totally revamp the DL for Detroit and make them a much better defense. OT would be an option...but I think you can address that later in round 2.
1.3) Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Gerald McCoy DT Oklahoma
Perfect DT for this defense in a DL that is in desperate need of help. This would be a perfect fit for Tampa and their cover 2 defense.
1.4) Washington Redskins - Trent Williams OT Oklahoma
Surprise pick? I don't think so. OLT is a must, especially now that their starting Qb is an aging vet with some injury history. Getting the franchise LT to protect McNabb is a must. Yes there maybe some value better...and a deal here for a Qb hungry team is a possibility.
1.5) Kansas City Chiefs - Eric Berry S Tennessee